What are the laws regarding cellphone use while driving?

As of October 1, 2011 Arkansas has new primary and secondary laws in place in regards to text messaging and cell phone use. Arkansas has banned all text messaging and cell phone use for drivers under the age of 18. Drivers 18-20 are banned from handheld phones but are allowed to use hands-free devices. The following are the guidelines regarding Arkansas’ distracted driving fines:

  • Fines for all drivers text messaging can be as much as $100 in the state of Arkansas.
  • Fines for drivers under 18 using any cell phone device go up to $50 in the state of Arkansas.
  • Fines for drivers 18-20 not using hands-free devices are up to $50 in the state of Arkansas.
  • Bus driver are prohibited from using cell phones while driving in the state of Arkansas.

Some confusion as to what a handheld wireless phone or device is and what the hands-free telephones or devices are have been outlined to include:

  • A Handheld wireless telephone is a cell phone or an electronic communication device that is used to make or receive phone calls or to have texted based conversations
  • Handheld wireless telephones do not include a hands-free cell phone or an electronic communication device, citizens band radio, or a citizens band radio hybrid.

A hands-free wireless telephone or device is defined as:

  • A cell phone or an electronic communication device that is used to make or receive phone calls or to have texted based conversations without the use of either hand.
  • An attachment or additional device such as headphones, bluetooth, speaker phone, etc.
  • A hands-free cell phone or electronic communication device may be a permanent or temporary part of the cell phone or other wireless electronic communication device.
  • A hands-free cell phone or electronic communication device may need the use of either hand to activate or deactivate.

What is the Move Over Law?

State law requires drivers approaching stationary emergency response vehicles that are displaying flashing lights, including wreckers or tow vehicles, traveling in the same direction, to move to the farthest lane from the vehicle if safe and possible to do so, or to slow to a speed appropriate for road and weather conditions.

What does the Arkansas Window Tint Law allow?

The darkness of tint is measured by (VLT%) Visible Light Transmission percentage. In Arkansas window tint law, this percentage refers to percentage of visible light allowed to pass through the combination of film and the factory tint of the window.

Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 5 inches of the windshield. Front Side Windows Must allow more than a total of 25% light in. Transmission through glass.Back Side Windows Must allow more than a total of 25% light in. Transmission through glass. Rear Window Must allow more than a total of 10% light in. Transmission through glass.

What are the child passenger safety laws in Arkansas?

Arkansas child passenger safety laws require that children under age 6 and under 60 pounds be properly secured in a federally approved car seat or booster seat. If a child is at least age 6 and at least 60 pounds, but under age 15, Arkansas law requires that the child use a seat belt.

The law (Ark. Rev. Code § 20-27-1902 et seq.) bars smoking in motor vehicles carrying children under the age of six, who weigh less than 60 pounds, and who are in car seats. It took effect on July 21, 2006. A violator may be fined $25, but can avoid paying the fine for a first offense by showing proof of participation in a smoking-cessation program. The law does not apply to buses (including school buses) and other public conveyances.

Where can I obtain a concealed carry permit?

Concealed carry permits are issued by the Arkansas State Police. The preferred method is applying online; however, you can submit a paper application. You can download the AR Pistol Permit Packet (PDF) which includes instructions along with an application.

What should I do if I suspect someone is involved in selling or trafficking in drugs?

You may report your suspicions to the Sheriff’s Office by calling 870-352-2002. Information given will be passed on to the appropriate personnel. You do not have to give your name when reporting your suspicions. 

What are the visiting hours for persons who are in jail?

Visitation hours and times will depend on County.

May I bring money to persons who are in jail?

Money may be deposited onto inmates books by the following ways:

  1. Depositing money into the kiosk located in the lobby of the Dallas County Jail. (may not be available)
  2. Mailing a money order or cashiers check to the inmate in care of the Dallas County jail.

What are the types of bonds available for a person to use to be released from the County Jail?

A person may be released on his/her own recognizance, through a private bonding company, by the posting of a Property Bond or by posting a Cash Bond.  However, each individual’s bond varies according to the nature of the offense charged, and you should contact the Dallas County Jail @ 870-352-2002 to find out the exact type of bond required for a certain individual.  

How do I obtain a copy of my Incident Report? Is there a fee?

The person filing an Incident Report (the victim) is the only person who may obtain a copy of the report. Incident Report copies may be obtained at the Sheriff’s Office between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, except on state holidays. The victim must present photo identification. There is no fee to obtain a copy of your report. 

How do I report a crime to the Sheriff's Office?

If the crime is "in progress," call 9-1-1. If the crime has already occurred and no immediate emergency exists, call 870-352-2002 to request a Deputy come to your location and make an Incident Report. You may also come to the Sheriff’s Office to make a report.